My Life: Warts And All
Tuesday, May 8, 2012
Update! Update!
I successfully completed my first half marathon at a very slow time of 2:31:26! It gives me a time to beat, right?
I had some issues with my training.
I got an infection in my toe (don't ask, I don't know) right after my 9 mile run 5 weeks before the race. My toe would not fit comfortably in my shoe (okay, not at all) so I went to the doc and got an antibiotic. The doc suggested I lay off the running for a bit. After a brief breakdown I conceded that may be a fine idea.
The toe felt great in a few days so I was ready to lace up and go...to the bathroom that is. I'm sorry that is so gross but the antibiotic really did a number on my stomach. I seriously took the next three weeks off from running. It was stressful and scary and I actually considered backing out of the run all together.
The week leading up to the race I ran a couple of miles everyday and felt really good. I started getting anxious Wednesday night and couldn't catch my breath until Friday right before Nick and I had our homemade breakfast burritos for dinner.
Nick spent several hours making the perfect running mix and laughing at me for liking some Pop Hits and songs that are more than a decade old and I happen to know every word.
Race Day:
I woke up at 3:50AM, my alarm was set for 4AM... I ate some oatmeal and a banana and drank some water and off we went to Provo.
I boarded the bus at 5AM and headed up the south fork of Provo canyon.
It was cold.
There isn't much fun about standing around by myself trying to keep warm and hoping going to the bathroom twice is good enough.
We started the race at 7:15AM and I felt great, except for all the runners passing me by!
The first 8 miles was awesome! The scenery was beautiful down the canyon, I don't know why I don't run in the canyon all the time.
Then mile 9 came. It was uphill. 9 miles is the most I have ever run before. The mental game had begun. I just had to do this.
Mile 12. I hated mile 12. Mile 12 was the longest mile of my life. I felt like I was moving at a snails pace and had lost all form and movement. I couldn't feel my legs so it wasn't as if I were in pain, I was just tired (I know, that means I'm completely out of shape, I'll work on it.) Then came mile 13 and I only had .1 miles to go... I saw Nick. Straight Outta Compton came on my iPod (don't judge me, you have to do what you have to do) and I ran... I ran faster than I had run the whole race and I FINISHED!
I felt great! It was awesome. Then I got sick, not, "oh, I'm tired and sore". I got, "I'm going to puke and I did sick".
Things that will prevent this next time.
A) Not taking 4 weeks off training.
B) stopping at ALL (most) of the water stops. I may have stopped at 3.
C) recovering with a banana, Gatorade, and Power bar instead of an orange, water, and banana flavored Creamie.
Once I was able to replenish a bit I was good to go. Sure I was sore on Sunday, Monday and today but I'm ready to do this again and better than 2:31:26 this time.
Let the training begin...again!
Thursday, March 1, 2012
It's....
MY BIRTHDAY MONTH! and the birthday month of a ton of other people I adore; Grandmother, Dad, Codi, Sadie, Lucy, Caitlin N., Caitlin S., McKell, Dalton, Jennifer J., Steve, Jayna...I'm sure I have forgotten someone and if so please tell me so we can go out and celebrate! (only 3 people read this blog so I'm sure if I've forgotten someone they'll never know)
I don't necessarily like receiving gifts, it's actually a little embarrassing. I just love celebrating LIFE and having an excuse to see family and friends, eat delicious cake and wonderful dinners and maybe take a day off work just for me...maybe...
Happy Birthday to all my fellow Pisces/Aries babies! Enjoy your month too...
I don't necessarily like receiving gifts, it's actually a little embarrassing. I just love celebrating LIFE and having an excuse to see family and friends, eat delicious cake and wonderful dinners and maybe take a day off work just for me...maybe...
Happy Birthday to all my fellow Pisces/Aries babies! Enjoy your month too...
Friday, February 3, 2012
Why Doesn't Time Stop?
There have been several times in my life I wished time would stop. I recently went to the funeral of a dear woman, her daughter and I were talking about losing our mothers and why time doesn't stop just for a moment. Why are people still going...can't they just all stop for just a moment and let me catch my breath? I have had big events in my life that have made me feel this way. I have also had small insignificant events as well, like being with a good friend for lunch and not wanting to leave b/c the conversation is just that good, looking at my nieces or nephews and wanting time to stop because the moment is perfect with them in it. Time needs to stop for a long overdue hug as to pay homage to that exchange of energy. The ramblings of my mind are endless but useful to me...
Friday, January 27, 2012
Things I've Learned
I have lived most of my winters in Utah so why do I always choose not to take a coat with me when it's 50 degrees outside...note to self...that means it's going to rain/snow or in other words GET REALLY COLD.
Tanning during the winter is a must for me to keep warm and fight off "the SAD" before it starts. So, why do I think I can be in a tanning bed for 10 minutes when my white parts haven't seen the sun for months if not years?
Do I really think I can make a pound of bacon and only eat one slice?
Which leads me to...
My jeans/genes don't fit. Okay, so everyone knows that one has to eat healthy in order for ones clothes to fit properly. Well...I forgot this and I'm paying for it by my fav jeans not fitting, however, if I wear them for 3 days in a row the 3rd day they feel almost loose...it's too much of a sacrifice during the first two days so I'm on a healthy eating kick. Another reason for the healthy eating is several people in my family have been diagnosed with diabetes. Nick and I lost our wonderful Uncle Michael this past summer from complications of diabetes so we are both a little high strung about all our family members taking care of themselves. What about me? Is diabetes genetic? I'm thinking there is something to it so healthy eating it is for me (and exercising, the half marathon is coming up). I'm not giving up carbs, sugar or fat I'm just trying to be more aware and selective. I'm not trying to lose 50 pounds either, I just want to be a healthier version of me.
My 34th birthday month is just around the corner and you would think with a number like 34 in front of how many years I am I would have figured some of these things out but then there would be other things to learn...
Tanning during the winter is a must for me to keep warm and fight off "the SAD" before it starts. So, why do I think I can be in a tanning bed for 10 minutes when my white parts haven't seen the sun for months if not years?
Do I really think I can make a pound of bacon and only eat one slice?
Which leads me to...
My jeans/genes don't fit. Okay, so everyone knows that one has to eat healthy in order for ones clothes to fit properly. Well...I forgot this and I'm paying for it by my fav jeans not fitting, however, if I wear them for 3 days in a row the 3rd day they feel almost loose...it's too much of a sacrifice during the first two days so I'm on a healthy eating kick. Another reason for the healthy eating is several people in my family have been diagnosed with diabetes. Nick and I lost our wonderful Uncle Michael this past summer from complications of diabetes so we are both a little high strung about all our family members taking care of themselves. What about me? Is diabetes genetic? I'm thinking there is something to it so healthy eating it is for me (and exercising, the half marathon is coming up). I'm not giving up carbs, sugar or fat I'm just trying to be more aware and selective. I'm not trying to lose 50 pounds either, I just want to be a healthier version of me.
My 34th birthday month is just around the corner and you would think with a number like 34 in front of how many years I am I would have figured some of these things out but then there would be other things to learn...
Tuesday, December 27, 2011
post-holiday cheer
someone asked me why i was so "chipper" today. i wasn't sure how to answer, i'm usually happy but there must be something about today that makes me a little more so. now that i think of it, it could be any of the following:
-i have spent four days with family and friends either visiting, talking or skyping and loved every minute
-i have had 8+ hours of sleep the past two nights
-i made plans for thursday night with some awesome friends
-the holiday music fest is over, don't get me wrong, i love a good christmas carol but after december 25th, no thanks
-there is still plenty of chocolate in my house
-i re-organized my cupboards
and many more...
-i have spent four days with family and friends either visiting, talking or skyping and loved every minute
-i have had 8+ hours of sleep the past two nights
-i made plans for thursday night with some awesome friends
-the holiday music fest is over, don't get me wrong, i love a good christmas carol but after december 25th, no thanks
-there is still plenty of chocolate in my house
-i re-organized my cupboards
and many more...
Friday, December 9, 2011
pleasures. some guilty some not, you decide.
watching this and this.
drinking a diet coke...no lectures please.
reading books slowly because i love them so much i don't want them to end. right now it's this one and this one. i can't wait for the movies!
listening to ella fitzgerald singing songs of the season...especially the christmas song
sitting, standing or laying in the sun whenever and wherever i can. even if i don't have sunscreen on.
making lists of "to dos" and "somedays"
the smell of coffee first thing in the morning (courtesy of my dad living with us!)
this time of year heightens all my senses like spring does. i love watching and feeling all the happenings around me and still try to enjoy my simple pleasures.
drinking a diet coke...no lectures please.
reading books slowly because i love them so much i don't want them to end. right now it's this one and this one. i can't wait for the movies!
listening to ella fitzgerald singing songs of the season...especially the christmas song
sitting, standing or laying in the sun whenever and wherever i can. even if i don't have sunscreen on.
making lists of "to dos" and "somedays"
the smell of coffee first thing in the morning (courtesy of my dad living with us!)
this time of year heightens all my senses like spring does. i love watching and feeling all the happenings around me and still try to enjoy my simple pleasures.
Thursday, November 10, 2011
i just might be crazy...
i did it. i just signed up for a half marathon. what you have to know is running is not my exercise of choice. i would rather walk (i walk faster than i run) or lift weights or do some kind of circuit training. then why sign up for a half marathon? because i'm not doing any of those things i'd rather do. if i have a goal, something i have to work toward i'll do it. so the provo city half marathon is my motivation. the date is more than five months away. that will give me time to train for a 5k and 10k i need to do before this 13.1 mile race rolls around. i am asking for all the running advice anyone can share; socks, music, sports bras, shoes, training and nutrition tips. i will welcome anything, give it to me. even if it's from your cousin's boyfriend's next door neighbors sister.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
